Buttermere one of Cumbrias many lakes Cumbria

Cumbria is located at the far north west of England just south of the Scottish border. It is also the most northerly point of both the A6 and the M6, it also contains the highest points above sea level on both roads.



The langdale Pikes some of Cumbrias fellsGeography

Cumbria can be divided into several geographic regions the northern coastal plain that runs from along the Irish sea coast from Solway Firth down to Whitehaven. The Eden Valley from Carlisle to Kirkby Stephen. The Southern peninsulas, the Millom, Furness and Cartmel peninsulas that jut out into Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. The Lune Valley from Kirkby Lonsdale to Newbiggin on Lune. The Pennine Fells along the counties eastern border. However the best known is the centre of the county the English Lakes or Lake District National Park. Cumbria is without doubt one of the most scenic counties in England. The fact that millions of tourist flock to the county to admire the scenery, to walk the fells or sail on one of its lakes bears this out.


Whitehaven one of Cumbrias townsCities and Towns

The county has just one city Carlisle, but several towns, Barrow, Workington, Whitehaven, Kendal, Penrith, Maryport, Keswick, Ulverston, Brampton, Windermere and Dalton. Of these only Carlisle, Barrow, Workington, Whitehaven and Maryport would be considered in anyway industrial. Of which only Barrow could be considered as a full industrial town the rest combine industry with tourism and history charming places to visit or stay.

Links to Cities and Town's Pages
Cities Towns Villages
Carlisle Roman Carlisle, Middle Centuries Carlisle, 19th Century Carlisle, A6 in Carlisle

Penrith, Roman Penrith, Middle Centuries Penrith, 19th Century Penrith, A6 in Penrith,

Kendal, Roman Kendal, A6 in Kendal, 19th Century Kendal, Middle Centuries Kendal

Carleton, Low Hesket, High Hesket, Plumpton, Eamont Bridge, Clifton, Lowther, Hackthorpe, Shap, Selside, SizerghLevens, Heversham, Milnthorpe, Beetham. . .



The M6 in the Lune Gorge east CumbriaThe A6 and M6 in Cumbria

The M6 and A6 run through the county from North to South just a little east of the centre line.

The A6 running from Carlisle down to Penrith, Kendal before disappearing across the Lancashire border near the village of Hale. During the Turnpike Period the route of the A6 in Cumbria was divided between the Carlisle and Eamont Bridge Trust and the Heiring Syke and Eamont Bridge Trust.

The M6 starts just at the Scorrish Bordere and continues part Penrith before taking a more easterly course through the Eden and Lune Valleys to pass the border near to Burton in Kendal.

Links to M6 Junctions in Cumbria

M6 Junction 36, M6 Junction 37, M6 Junction 38, M6 Junction 39, M6 Junction 40, M6 Junction 41, M6 Junction 42, M6 Junction 43, M6 Junction 44 ...